Conclusion Of An Year Long Alternate Day Fasting On The Day Of Akshay Tritiya Organization By The Hindmotor Terapanthi Sabha

Published: 14.05.2009
Updated: 30.07.2015

Balance between Perseverance and Tranquility is necessary in Life

- Sadhvi Kanak Shri

Hindmotor (West Bengal), 27.04.2009

Sadhvi Kanak ShriIn the Hon’ble presence of Sadhvishri Kanakshrij, a learned disciple of His Holiness Acharya Shri Mahapragyaji, the event of the completion of Year Long Fasting (Varshi Tap Parna) took place on the day of Akshay Tritiya. The Chief Guests for the event were Shri Pinaki Dhamali, Chairman of Uttarpara Kotrang Municipality; Shri Vinod Baid Vice-President of Jain Vishwa Bharti, Ladnun and Shri Binod Choraria, General secretary of Jain Swetamber Terapanthi Mahasabha.

Sri Karan Singh Nahata and Sri Narendra Kumar Manot (President and Secretary of Shri Jain Swetamber Terapanthi Sabha, Kolkata, respectively) were also present to welcome Sadhvishri Kanaksriji and her group of nuns at Hindmotor, in coarse of over 6 month long on foot journey from Delhi to Kolkata, arrangement for which were undertaken by Kolkata Sabha on 11.01.2009 at Allahabad from representatives of Delhi sabha.

This Varshi Tap Parna event was concluded by eight devotee sisters completing their year long alternate day fast..

The event, held at Large Fanindra Bhawan, Hindmotor was initiated by a chorus song by the local Terapanth Mahila Mandal. Referring to the present great gathering of the lay followers, Learned Sadhvishri Kanakshriji said - Lord Rishabhnath; First Tirthankar of Jain Religion meditated for a long time. He fasted for a long period; for an year and forty days. He fasted without having food and water. His fast was concluded when he drank “sugarcane juice” from the hands of Prince Shreyansh. This incident led to the birth of the name “Akshaya Tritya”. In the fond remembrance of Lord Rishabh, thousands of Jain devotees keep an year long fast and conclude it on the day of Akshaye Tritya by having sugarcane juice.

Sadhvishri enlightened the members present on the personality of Lord Rishabhnath - said - Rishabhnath ji was by birth an absolute intelligent. He was blessed with humane gentility and culture. He was the first to impart education on how to use sword, inkpot and cultivation to the early man. He commenced the yearning of the sacred thread of sage progeny. She said - for material development, there is a necessity of control of spiritual knowledge. There should be a balance between perseverance and tranquility in life. Encouraging the mental strength of the fasting and meditating devotees, Sadhvishri said - fasting for a continuous and long time keeps one healthy and ensures a long life.

Sadhvi Madhulekha ji and Sadhvi Shantiprabha ji sketched the Rishabh-era by presenting an emotional song. The family members felt a sense of pleasure on introducing the fasting devotees, Smt. Gulab Devi Raijada & Smt. Sarswati Sancheti, Shri. Bhawarlal Singhi, national convenor of Terapanthi Mahasabha put forward his vies. Chief Guest, Shri Vinod Baid, an industrialist heartily congratulated his mother on the successful completion of her 11th year long fasting and the other fasting devotees. Karan Singh Nahata, President of Terapanthi Sabha, Kolkata presented literary momentees to the fasting devotees. Shri Jawarimal Nahata, President of South Howrah Terapanthi Sabha put forward his relevant ideas and said - five devotees sisters from our area have fasted and has made us proud. Smt. Pratibha Pugalia, President of Terapanthi Mahila Mandal, Kolkata; Smt. Gini Surana, President of Hindmotor Mahila Mandal; Shri Kuldeep Manot, President of Teyup, Kolkata and Shri Pawan Sethia also put forward their ideas.

The Devotee (Tapaswi) sisters were presented with momento and flower garlands by the Terapanthi Sabha, Hindmotor. Sadhvi Madhulataji chanted the verse ‘OM RISHABHAYA NAMAH’ The year long fasting was concluded by the devotee fasters offering sugarcane juice as alms to Sadhvi Shri Kanakshriji. All the family members present and the lay followers expressed their happiness on the occasion by chanting “Aho Danam! Aho Danam!”

It is worth mentioning that many of the sisters doing varshitap are doing so since last many years. The devotee sisters were:


Name of the devotee sister

Number of the year long fast completed


Smt. Kanvari Bai Surana



Sri. Kamla Devi Baid



Sri. Kiran Devi Chajjer



Smt. Chandra Devi Surana



Smt. Gulab Devi Raizada



Smt. Ratni Devi Bengani



Sri. Sarswati Devi Sancheti



Smt. Saroj Devi Dhadewa


Many women came forward and accepted vows to continue year long alternate day fasting. Sri. Laxmipat Sancheti, secretary of Hindmotor Terapanthi Sabha offered vote of thanks to everyone who has directly or indirectly played role in making the programme a grand success. Sri.Gulab Chand Bafna, treasurer of Hindmotor Sabha gave a skilful counsel, compered the stage programme. In this big historic event all the persons of Hindmotor and all lay followers doing work laboriously played key role in the success of the programme. In the night the Event of Mangal Bhavna was arranged under the pious presence of for Sadhvishri at Fanindra Bhawan. Shri Gulab Chand Bafna, Samta Choraria, members of Hindmotor Mahila Mandal, Rajmul Bararia etc were overwhelmed, and humbly bowing down to the kindness of H.H. Acharya Shri Mahapragyaji expressed their views and said, “We will never forget the kindness of Sadhvishri towards those lay followers living in suburbs of Kolkata. She gave us the holy chance of organizing Akshaye Tritya and we were fortunate enough to organise it. We shally be eagerly looking for the next round of the holy presence of Sadhvishree and her group of nuns to enlighten us and our children with the classes of gyanshalas”.

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Acharya
  2. Acharya Shri Mahapragyaji
  3. Akshay Tritiya
  4. Allahabad
  5. Bhavna
  6. Bhawan
  7. Binod Choraria
  8. DANAM
  9. Delhi
  10. Fasting
  11. Hindmotor
  12. Howrah
  13. Jain Swetamber Terapanthi Mahasabha
  14. Jain Vishwa Bharti
  15. Kolkata
  16. Ladnun
  17. Mahasabha
  18. Mahila Mandal
  19. Mandal
  20. OM
  21. Rishabh
  22. Rishabhnath
  23. Sabha
  24. Sadhvi
  25. Sadhvi Kanak Shri
  26. Sadhvi Madhulekha
  27. Sadhvishri Kanakshriji
  28. Tap
  29. Tapaswi
  30. Terapanth
  31. Terapanth Mahila Mandal
  32. Terapanthi
  33. Tirthankar
  34. Uttarpara
  35. West Bengal
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 3135 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.07
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: