SOAS - 10th Jaina Studies Workshop [02] Welcome Adresses & Awards

Published: 12.03.2008
Updated: 29.11.2012

Jaina Art & Architecture
10th Jaina Studies Workshop at SOAS

Thursday, 6th March 2008
Brunei Gallery Lecture Theater

Group Photo
Speakers and audience.
Among the audience were William Johnson (Cardiff), Emma Salter (Huddersfied), Lynn Foulston (Newport), MAureen Michaelson, Anne Vallely (Ottawa), Michael Willis (British Museum), Crispin Branfoot (SOAS), Jagdish P. Sharma (Hawaii), etc.

Huddersfield, Johnson, Branfoot & Willis were session chairs.


After Peter Flügel's (SOAS) speech,


Prof. Olle Qvarnstrom from Lund University, Sweden welcomed the audience.


SOAS Honorary President Professor J. Clifford Wright awarded
Annie Rowling
IOJ funded SOAS Undergraduate Jaina Essay Prize 2006-7
for her for her essay on:
Is the Philosophy of Non-Absolutism Only Partly or Absolutely True?


SOAS Honorary President Professor J. Clifford Wright awarded
Hugh St Aubyn
for his ISP on:
Sallekhana: its place within the Jain religious tradition and the context
of its status as voluntary death or suicide.


Nicholas Barnard from V&A Museum, London, welcomed the audience.


The chair



31.10.2012 ►Video host ►vimeo

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Cardiff
  2. Dr. Anne Vallely
  3. IOJ
  4. JAINA
  5. Jaina
  6. Jaina Art
  7. Jaina Studies Workshop At SOAS
  8. London
  9. Lund
  10. Lund University
  11. Michael Willis
  12. Non-absolutism
  13. Olle Qvarnstrom
  14. Ottawa
  15. SOAS
  16. Sallekhana
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 3505 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.07
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: