Ahimsa Yatra : Maryada Mahotsava 2007 - Day 1 - Announcement of Service in Seva Kendras

Published: 23.01.2007
Updated: 02.07.2015

Acharya Mahaprajna and the Sangh on Ahimsa footwalk.

Maryada Mahotsav
Day 1


:zoom out for overview

Today, 23rd January 2007, Maryada Mahotsav 2007 started in Gangashahar, Rajasthan. Traditionally, the 3 days program starts with the announcement which monks and nuns will do service in Seva Kendras, centres for monks and nuns too aged to go to any destination for rendering service there.

The attraction of the first day is when one monk and one nun are asking H.H. Acharya Mahaprajnaji on behalf of every monk and nun of the Sangh to be admitted overtaking this responsibility. For the saints, this service means a period of rest, as they will stay for one year at the Seva Kendra they have been chosen for giving benefits to their senior fellow monks and nuns. This year, Munishree Tarachandji and Sadhvishree Kanakshreeji addressed the gathering in Gangashahar for this purpose.

When Gurudev started to speak, all ears and eyes were attentively fixed on him to know the names. Gurudev informed the audience that Ladnun is the eldest Seva Kendra, and then he named Sadhvi Kanchan Prabha. Sadhvi Kanchan Prabha came in front and did Vandana. Gurudev reported that she was on tour for 11 years. During this period, she had completed a long tour of Assam and Bengal, heading from December 2005 to New Delhi, where she was Gurudev’s ambassador of Ahimsa up to midst of December 2006. All these 11 years, she has done her work uninterruptedly in public, delivering speeches, giving lectures and advising those seeking her guidance. In 2007, Gurudev continued, she will do work of service.

Then Gurudev announced the inauguration of two new centres for monks this year, at Jain Vishva Bharati Ladnun and at Sujangarh. Munishree Rajkaran has been chosen for taking care of the new Sujangarh centre.

Incidentally, Munishree Rajkaran, as well as Sadhvi Kanchan Prabha had spent 2 (1979, 1980), respectively 3 (2003, 2004, 2005) Chaturmas in Kolkata, as our Kolkata based correspondent Sushil Kumar Bafana indicated.

The following chaturmas were announced for Seva Kendras:

Seva Kendra



Sadhvi Kanchanprabhaji


Sadhvi Kundanrekhaji

Sri Dungargarh

Sadhvi Madhusmitaji


Sadhvi Somlataji


Sadhvi Ratan Shri "Sridungargarh"


Muni Sukhlalji
Muni Mohjeetkumarji

JVB Ladnun

Muni Tara Chandji
Muni Sumati Kumarji


Muni Raj Karanji


Sushil Bafana, Kolkata
Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Acharya
  2. Acharya Mahaprajna
  3. Ahimsa
  4. Assam
  5. Bidasar
  6. Chaturmas
  7. Chhapar
  8. Delhi
  9. Gangashahar
  10. Gurudev
  11. JVB
  12. JVB Ladnun
  13. Jain Vishva Bharati
  14. Jain Vishva Bharati Ladnun
  15. Kendra
  16. Kolkata
  17. Ladnun
  18. Mahaprajnaji
  19. Maryada
  20. Maryada Mahotsav
  21. Muni
  22. New Delhi
  23. Rajasthan
  24. Sadhvi
  25. Sadhvi Kanchan Prabha
  26. Sadhvi Ratan Shri
  27. Sangh
  28. Seva
  29. Seva Kendra
  30. Sri Dungargarh
  31. Sridungargarh
  32. Sujangarh
  33. Sumati
  34. Sushil Bafana
  35. Vandana
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 2513 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.06
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: