President inaugurates Mahamastakabhisheka

Published: 09.02.2018
Updated: 12.02.2018

Return to frontpage

The Hindu Newspaper

President Ram Nath Kovind inaugurating the 88th Mahamastakabhisheka of Lord Gomateshwara by unveiling an idol of Bahubali at Shravanabelagola in Hassan district on Wednesday. Also seen are Savita Kovind, Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, former Prime Minster H.D. Deve Gowda, Charukeeti Bhattaraka Swamy of Jain Mutt and others.   | Photo Credit: - Sudhakara Jain

President Ram Nath Kovind inaugurated the Mahamastakabhisheka here on Wednesday by unveiling an idol of Lord Bahubali, placed in a silver frame, in the presence of several saints and dignitaries. The President also lighted a lamp to mark the inauguration of the mega event, held once in 12 years.

In his address, the President said he was blessed to be a part of the inaugural ceremony of the event, which has a long history. “This is an important place representing the country’s culture and heritage. It has been spreading the message of love, peace and non-violence to the globe.”

Mr. Kovind said Lord Bahubali renounced the kingdom and took to spreading the significance of non-violence and sacrifice. “The Bahubali statue installed here signifies his sacrifice. Because of the message the statue stands for, the place has been attracting large crowds from across the globe.”

Referring to the history of Shravanabelgola, the President said Jain saint Bhadrabahu reached this place from Ujjain along with his disciples. Later Chandragupta Maurya, the ruler of Patna, also handed over his kingdom to his son Bindusara and chose to spend his days here.

The Gomateshwara statue also represents the rich heritage of the country with regard to art and sculpture. “The statue was installed in 981 and that was the time when the first anointing ceremony was held. Since then, the ceremony has been held once in 12 years”, the President said.

Many dignitaries including Karnataka Governor Vajubha Vala, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, Charukeerthi Bhattaraka Swami, Acharya Vardhamana Sagar, a Jain saint, and Veerendra Heggade of Dharmastala, were present on the occasion.




Bahubali Mahamastakabhisheka 2018

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Acharya
  2. Bahubali
  3. Bahubali Mahamastakabhisheka 2018
  4. Bhattaraka
  5. Chandragupta
  6. Chandragupta Maurya
  7. Charukeerthi
  8. Gomateshwara
  9. Hassan
  10. Karnataka
  11. Lord Gomateshwara
  12. Mahamastakabhisheka
  13. Mahamastakabhisheka 2018
  14. Mutt
  15. Nath
  16. Non-violence
  17. Patna
  18. Ram
  19. Sagar
  20. Shravanabelagola
  21. Shravanabelgola
  22. Swami
  23. The Hindu Newspaper
  24. Ujjain
  25. Vardhamana
  26. Veerendra Heggade
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 369 times.
© 1997-2020 HereNow4U, Version 4
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: